LouiseTobinBWLouise has been principal of St. Joseph’s Primary School in Tipperary Town since 2009. She previously worked for a year with School Development Planning as a facilitator, and for a further year with the Primary Development Service for Teachers as an advisor, during which time she completed post-graduate studies in School Planning. Louise worked in Grange NS, Clonmel, Co. Tipperary for 20 years, and was Acting Principal there for 2 years. She has experience as both teaching and administrative principalship.

Louise was the Tipperary representative on the IPPN National Council since 2017 and is currently serving her second term on the Board of Directors. Louise is an active member of the local principals’ support group in Tipperary Town and is also a member of the Principals of ASD Classes Network Group in Tipperary. Louise is a trained and active CSL mentor and is the Chairperson of the Cahir Branch of the INTO.

Louise has a strong interest in school planning as a powerful means of promoting school effectiveness and development. Louise has advocated strongly for the past 5 years on behalf of pupils living in areas of disadvantage, seeking extra resources under the DEIS scheme and has been successful in getting a package of interim measures for the children in Tipperary Town until the next rollout of DEIS.

Louise was elected IPPN Deputy President/President-elect in June 2021 and will serve as president from September 2023 to August 2025.

Back to Top